No Good Deed Goes Unpunished


And the story begins with an innocent stroll around the park in Midtown a few weeks ago when I decided to take the camera for a walk hoping to catch something interesting…little did I know that I was going to be plunged into a 2010 cuban version of  the 1963 Alfred Hitchcock ‘s Classic Horror Film “The Birds”   – You all know I am a huge animal lover, but for some reason birds have it out for me! First that crazy goose who chased me around for 20 minutes during my visit to the farm and now this. I don’t get it, I  was never one of those kids who threw rocks at them when I was young or anything so I’m guessing its deeper…I must be paying for something I did in one of my past lives…anyways back to me walking by the park when suddenly I see this baby pigeon on the sidewalk, and  like any good-hearted yuppie I approached it immediately to see what was wrong.  BIG MISTAKE! I got attacked by a dozen or so crows that apparently had been feasting on the poor defenseless bird who most likely fell from its nest. I took the baby bird while I ran shouting & cursing loudly at the peak of my “cuban chusmeria” and I threw one of my flip-flops at them – I swear it looked like a scene from the “Que Pasa USA Show” and those suckers would not stop until I finally was able to get away…Here is a photo a took of the baby pigeon once the danger was over.

Sadly soon after I took this photo I realized that the this little guy was really hurt, bleeding from his chest, so I hurried and got in my truck and flew towards the Pelican Rescue on 79th Ave in North Bay Village. I know they take injured birds and although it was already getting dark they have these cages outside where you can put the injured animal and they monitor those cages every hour to check for drop offs.  A few minutes after swarming through the traffic I got there and found the drop-off cage and I placed it inside.  To my surprise there was a friendly Pelican at the door who didn’t seemed to hate me so I took a photo of him too.

I only hope the pigeon survived the injuries.  I didn’t call back the next morning – I didn’t want to know, but At least I gave it a fighting chance!  Oh and by the way – look how nice the Marina looks at dusk over by this place.

Share this Post
Add to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to Twitter

7 thoughts on “No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

  1. Was I inhabiting your body that day? That SO sounds like one of my adventures. I hope the baby bird made it because of your intervention. But I, too, would be unable to call and find out. Sometimes the pain of caring is a burden, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. You did a good deed for a helpless creature, and Pelican Rescue is a godsend. They’ve helped me too in the past, and I’ve donated to them. And, as always, las photos are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

