I’m Not Religious, But…


I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised the other day when I went for a walk during my lunch hour. Hidden deep in the heart of downtown Miami I stumbled upon a great architectural beauty. Despite the fact that I m not a fan of churches in general, I could not escape the trance. I never thought this busy, congested somewhat modern city still housed such an old structure from before World War II. Yes particularly ” The Gesu Catholic Church” which was built in 1896, the same year the city of Miami was named and incorporated therefore making this house of worship the oldest one in our backyard! Here are a few shots I took – Mind you, I had to climb the stairs of a nearby parking lot all the way to the 8th floor in order to capture some of these images and I got drenched in sweat, so much for the 21st century , the elevators were broken that day 😦

Add to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to StumbleUponAdd to Twitter

11 thoughts on “I’m Not Religious, But…

  1. WOW! THOSE ARE AMAZING SHOTS AND I NEVER SEEN THESE CHURCHES IN MIAMI.. LOOKS LIKE YOUR NOT IN MIAMI.. Very nice!

  2. All I can say is I’m so impressed with your photos…congratulations and continue doing what you love and it’ll love you back! xo

Leave a Reply

